News & Events > Department News

Petros Maragos, National Technical University of Athens, Greece


Modulation Models in Speech and Video Processing

Wednesday, December 19, 10:30am - 11:20am
EE Building Room 403

Host: Les Atlas


This talk presents an overview of some advances in modulation models of the AM-FM type used in both speech and audio processing as well as in image and video processing. In the beginning of the talk, a brief synopsis of the fundamental ideas in AM-FM modulation models and related signal demodulation algorithms will be presented. The main part of the talk will focus on advances in using modulations for speech and audio processing with applications in speech recognition and audio-visual summarization. In the second part of the talk, some advances will also be briefly discussed in spatio-temporal modulation tracking and their applications in image segmentation and video action recognition.


Petros Maragos received the Diploma in E.E. from the National Technical University of Athens (NTUA) in 1980 and the M.Sc. and Ph.D. degrees from Georgia Tech, Atlanta, in 1982 and 1985. In 1985 he joined the faculty of the Division of Applied Sciences at Harvard University, where he worked for eight years as professor of electrical engineering affiliated with the Harvard Robotics Lab. In 1993 he joined the faculty of the School of ECE at Georgia Tech. During periods of 1996-98 he had a joint appointment as director of research at the Institute of Language and Speech Processing in Athens. Since 1998 he has been working as a professor at the NTUA School of ECE. His research and teaching interests include signal processing, systems theory, pattern recognition, and their applications to image processing and computer vision, audio, speech and language processing, cognitive systems, and robotics. He has served as: Associate Editor for the IEEE Trans. on ASSP, IEEE Trans. on PAMI, and editorial board member and guest editor for several journals on signal processing, image analysis and vision; co-organizer of several conferences and workshops, including VCIP'92, ISMM'96, VLBV'01, MMSP'07, ECCV'10, EUSIPCO'12; member of the IEEE committees on DSP, IMDSP and MMSP.

His is the recipient or co-recipient of several awards, including a 1987-1992 National Science Foundation Presidential Young Investigator Award, the 1988 IEEE SPS Young Author Best Paper Award for the paper "Morphological Filters," the 1994 IEEE SPS Senior Best Paper Award and the 1995 IEEE W.R.G. Baker Prize Award for the paper "Energy Separation in Signal Modulations with Application to Speech Analysis," the 1996 Pattern Recognition Society's Honorable Mention Award for the paper "Min-Max Classifiers," the EURASIP 2007 Technical Achievement Award for contributions to nonlinear signal, image and speech processing, and the Best Paper Award of the IEEE CVPR-2011 Gesture Recognition Workshop. He was elected a Fellow of IEEE in 1995 and of EURASIP in 2010 for his research contributions.

News & Events  
EE logo