Sensors, Energy, and Automation Laboratory

Mission Statement:

To create new sensor and automation technology applications in such fields as non-destructive testing, power engineering, and manufacturing control using latest advances in signal processing, robotics, and communications. SEAL projects are focused on design of sensor and sensor arrays using electric, magnetic, acoustic, and thermal fields. We use enabling MEMS technology to achieve enhanced performance of sensing systems. There are currently several openings on the SEAL research team for both undergraduate and graduate students.

Graduate Students

[class schedule]

[homepage]

[resume]

Sep Makhsous

Ph.D. program

Diet Data Record System (DDRS) and Twin Registry

sosper30@u.washington.edu

Hsiu-Che (Joseph) Wang

Ph.D. program

Fringing electric field sensor and electrohydrodynamic cooler

hsiuchew@u.washington.edu

TsrongYi (TY) Wen

Ph.D. program

Electrostatic Fluid Accelerators

tywen@u.washington.edu

Undergraduate Students

Andrew Walker

DDRS

andrew.k.walker@me.com

Bai Wu

DDRS

bai_wu@foxmail.com

Jason French

jfrench1@u.washington.edu

Michael Kibbe

DDRS

mkibbe@u.washington.edu

Yekyung (Julia) Jang

MSB

yekyungj@uw.edu

Yu-Cheng Chen

Hardware Team

yucheng_c@yahoo.com

Liusha Huang

Android Team

hlswh1021@gmail.com

Wuyue Liu (Mason)

Hardware Team

masonlwy@gmail.com

Kay Kim

Designer / DDRS

kaykim309@gmail.com

Pavel Kulik

DDRS/Algorithm

kulikp@uw.edu

Shuowei Li

MSB

shuowei.li@gmail.com

Yanling He

MSB

heyl@uw.edu

Yi Zhao

DDRS

yizhao88@uw.edu

Aicheng (Andy) Wang

DDRS

aicheng7@myuw.net

WenXuan (Vince) Wu

DDRS

vincewu@uw.edu

Michael Wasko

Robotics Sensitive Skin

micwasko@gmail.com

Hannah Yun

MSB

hsy3@uw.edu

Zishen Hu

DDRS

shen0924@uw.edu

Past SEAL Students

Former students are organized in the list below by last name. Click on the first letter of the person's last name that you are looking for to take you to their information. Letter in parenthesis indicated whether the student was undergraduate or graduate research assistant in SEAL.

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Name

email

Graduate

Now

A

B

Barchet, Alex

2000

UW

Bijoor, Sheila

Bowman, Dinh

Brown, Dan

Burnett, Timothy

2002

UW

Byrd, Leslie E. II (U)

Biederman, Will (U)

willjb@u.washington.edu

Charliz Burks (U)

willjb@u.washington.edu

C

Chen, Jeffrey

Choi, Suck Joon

Chiu, Kevin (U)

kgc@u.washington.edu

Cheng, Diana (U)

djcheng@u.washington.edu

Yin-Shiuan (Jessica) Chen (U)

yinchen@u.washington.edu

Yi-Cheng (Andy) Chen (U)

chen1991@u.washington.edu

D

Do, Duong Binh

E

F

Frondozo, Rhea

2002

UW

G

George, Scott

2000

Software Engineer - Lockhead Martin Missile and Space

Gosting, Jon

2002

UW

H

Hiranaka, Jackie (U)

2001

UW

Hegg, Michael

Holt, Marcus (U)

2001

UW

Hoang, Thuy Nguyen (U)

2002

UW

Hua, My (U)

2002

UW

Hardt, Chrisita

Hsu, Chih-Peng

cphsu@ee.washington.edu

Hungerford, Marc E. (U)

erichun@u.washington.edu

I

Isakharov, Arthur (U)

2000

Intel

Isern, Hans

Inclan, Valerie (U)

vvi@u.washington.edu

J

Jiang, Bing

bjiang@u.washington.edu

K

Kebbeh, Morrie (U)

mkebbeh@u.washington.edu

Kim, Tae y

L

Larson, Sam (U)

Victor Loui (U)

Annika Lee (U)

Tri Van Le (U)

Lu, Curtis(U)

2001

Sparling

Li, Sherley(U)

2002

UW

Liu, Fei Wen(U)

2003

UW

Liang, Kerry

Lu, Stephanie

Li, XiaoBei

lixiaobei@ee.washington.edu

Larsen, Nels Jewell

nelsjl@u.washington.edu

Lu, David (U)

ludavid@u.washington.edu

M

Meyer, Brad

2000

Musse, Abdiwali

Mak, Cheuk-Wai

Motonaga, Kimberly

Mathur, Abhinav S.

abhinav@u.washington.edu

Ma, Brian (U)

zfiend@u.washington.edu

N

Nguyen, Tien Dang

O

Oakley, John-Rolf

Ochenkowski, Piotrek

Ortiz, Simon

March 2001

P

Parks, Jake

Phan, Lu-Vong (U)

2000

Parker, David

Pendergrass, Kyle

Q

R

Raymond, Michelle (U)

2002

UW

Rudeen, Collin (U)

2002

UW

Rajan, Kishore Sundara

kishore@u.washington.edu

Rollins, Andrew (U)

arollins@u.washington.edu

S

Shaverdian, Arpi (U)

UW

Sebastian, Hans (U)

UW

Singh, Karn (U)

2000

UW

Sun, Ken (U)

2000

National Instruments

Semeniuk, Nick

Stuart, Paul Graham

Sun, Xiaolin

Rowe, Gabe

gaber@u.washington.edu

Sample, Alanson P.

alanson@u.washington.edu

Sayre, Fred (U)

fsayre@u.washington.edu

Seater, David (U)

dseater@u.washington.edu

Max Sherman (U)

john@maxsherman.com

T

Tevelde, Steve (U)

2002

UW

Thai, Tram Kim (U)

2002

UW

Thanh

Tran, Eric

Tan, Jason

Tonkonogui, Anna (U)

tanna@u.washington.edu

U

V

Vorng, Chantra (U)

2003

Seattle Central

Villa, Daniel (U)

2002

UW

W

Wistort, Ryan (U)

Wynn, Ryan

2000

National Instruments, Austin

Wang, Min

Wong, Ka (U)

2002

UW

X

Y

Yang, Fumin

Yedinak, Kelly

2002

UW

Yang, Fumin

Yang, Fumin

2002

UW

Yeager, Dan (U)

yeagerd@ee.washington.edu

Yi, Jun (U)

jhy3@u.washington.edu

Z

Zhang, Jing

2001

UW

Zyuzin, Alexei

Zhang, Philip (U)

pqz@u.washington.edu